Have you ever come across the term “Other Snapchatters“? Did that leave you perplexed?
Seeing “Other Snapchatters” for the first time can be very confusing. It has left Snapchat users wondering what it means.
There isn’t one answer for the term. “Other Snapchatters can mean multiple things.
We will see what it means and decode it in this article.
What does “Other Snapchatters” mean?
The term “Other Snapchatters” can mean one of three things.
It can mean that you have been blocked.
Or that someone who you haven’t added has viewed your story.
Or it can simply mean that someone has removed you from their friend list.
Basically, the term denotes that someone who isn’t a friend on the app has viewed your story.
When we post a story on Snapchat, it shows all the viewers who have watched your story after you have posted it. But sometimes under the list, it shows “Other Snapchatters” as viewers.
1. People you haven’t added back
Snapchatters you haven’t added back appear as “Other Snapchatters” under the viewers’ list.
When you add someone on your Snapchat and post a story sometime later and they view it, they are displayed normally as viewers. Snapchat shows their names under the viewers’ list.
But people who you haven’t added back as friends view your story, it shows them as “Other Snapchatters”.
So these are users who have added you but you haven’t added them, hence you aren’t able to see their names.
Snapchat officially tweeted stating that ‘Other Snapchatters” refers to people you haven’t added back.
2. People who blocked you
Snapchat users that have blocked you also appear as “Other Snapchatters”.
But they must have viewed your story before blocking you. Because once they block you they will not be able to view your story or receive and send any messages to you.
One way to find out if you have been blocked by someone is to check their name on the chat. If it shows a grey-colored arrow under their name it could mean that they have either blocked you or removed you from their friends’ list.
So, when someone views your story and then blocks you, they appear as “Other Snapchatters” in your story viewer list. And they will not be able to view any stories that you may post in the future.
3. Removed as friend
When someone removes you from a friend on Snapchat they too appear as “Other Snapchatters” on your viewer list.
But they must have viewed your story before removing you from their friend list.
You can make sure by looking at their chat. If it shows a grey colored arrow under their name, it indicates that they have removed you from their friend list or they have blocked you. Another indicator is the “Pending” status of a snap or a text you sent them.
When you send a snap or a text to someone who has blocked you or removed you from their friend list, it will show “Pending” and will not deliver the text or snap.
To sum up the article, “Other Snapchatters” refers to people on your Snapchat who:
- you haven’t added back
- have blocked you
- have removed you from the friend list
Snapchat however does not notify its users when they are blocked or removed from someone’s friend list. But you can find out by the grey colored arrow below their name on the chat list.
Screen recording on Snapchat without notifying